top of page

The girls...

Finding friends is a life time process. Once I get older, I realise I'm more of looking for quality rather than quantity. I have read in an article before moving to Singapore, you need to able to spread your network to know many people because you would never know who are you going to meet along the way. Some people said I look very friendly but I come into my conclusion that I am actually shy and a selective person in term of looking for friends with similar interests. Nevertheless, to be able to find friends in a new country, opening up myself for a little bit would worth a while.


Interestingly, I suddenly met Princess and Anastassia, beautiful single moms in their mid 30s who live and work in Singapore. I met them through kids' school, our children go to the same class. Even though their life is handful (Anastassia has 3 kids and Princess has 2 kids), incredible busy, they are career driven and still not forgetting their main job as a mother. And then I met Fon, a beautiful Singaporean girl who works with Princess. She is very smart, independent and again, pretty!


One night we have decided to meet at The Exchange on Wednesday night for Ladies Night free drinks for ladies. Since I hardly go out at night in Singapore, I gave it a go. I know Princess and Anastassia, will not go wrong with it. This is the first time we met 4 of us and yes, all hell break loose. Turned out 3 of them are fun girls to hang out with, we had a chat with an interesting Irish guy who we hardly remember his name and all of sudden we were having conversation with many people. We become quite close to each other ever since.


I am experiencing de ja vu feeling at this point. In Brisbane, I am surrounded by beautiful single moms or a single girl who happen to be my very close friends. Here I am, develop a new friendship with these 3 beauties in a new country. I have seen my close friends back in Brisbane have struggled as a bread winner in the family, but I admire and highly respect them. They are hard workers, loving mothers, strong women, all in one. Not all the sadness happen in their life tho, the happiness and the joy of being single with or without baggage, doesn't stop them going on a dating world. Similar to these 3 beauties who I've just met and develop my new friendship.


They are actively engaged in dating world, except when they are about to meet a guy who they met on dating app, they will drag one of us or all of us to meet this guy. Very interesting to see how dating can be when you are in middle age especially in Singapore.


Through Princess and Fon as well, I also met a very lovely newly wed Juliana and Resh. The first time I met them was on a boat party organised by one of Princess' work colleague. We started to hang out together either dining out, drinking at The Exchange or party. Then there is a guy we know quite well, he works as a manager in a famous chain gym in Singapore. Let's call him Drew. Regularly we go out with Drew and his entourage. Despite being super fit, he is also a hardcore party goer. I've also started to drag Ed to hang out with them.


Since I met these girls, my fitness level is skyrocketing. Princess is a runner, Fon is a gym goer and Anastassia is a yogi. I was not a runner until Princess took me for a long run. Yes, a long run, 7.6K! For my first run from Marina Bay Shoppe to Tanjung Rhu and back. I was going to kill her that night (hahaha) Since then, I really enjoy running. Regularly doing it 3 times a week. Running along the river close to my house is my favourite but also running around Botanic Garden with Princess is even better. I love my girls keep themselves fit.


I would say my girls are fun to hang out with, our activities are mostly involving eating, swimming with kids, drinking and building up business idea. I feel great when I am near them. We always give each other support and less judgemental in dealing with life.



















































































bottom of page