top of page

My addiction to Spartan Race

Sport. Who doesn't love watching sport? Watching rugby in the stadium while sipping beers and indulge beef pies, ridiculously long hours cricket, your favorite soccer team or just watching Ninja Warrior on TV. And not the least mention, people who love doing sport. For every private schools in Australia, sport is their religion. To be able to get into good private school, the kids have to, at least, include one sport in their resume.

I love sport and watching sport. I go to the gym and run once a week. Since I live in Singapore and met a good bloke who is a gym manager, my sport level is taking to the next one. He introduces me to Spartan Race. In my life I would never thought that I would do any kind of race, let alone the obstacles race. I only go to the gym to keep myself healthy with boxing or free weight lifting guided by beloved Personal Trainer, Raymond Koh. However since I got myself into Spartan Race, my training has completely changed. Raymond has designed all the necessary equipments and my own personal training for me to be ready in the next challenge.

First, I have heard about Spartan Race and thought, I would not be doing that! Who wants to be rolling in the mud getting dirty while crawling under barbed wire. Then the gym manager who happens to be my good sporty friend, Andy, had me convinced that I would be able to do it. So here I go, began my Spartan addiction journey.



Spartan Race is a series of obstacle races of varying distance and difficulty ranging to 3 miles to marathon distances. The races consist of Spartan Sprint (3+ miles, 20+ obstacles), Spartan Super (8+ miles, 25+ obstacles), Spartan Beast (13+ miles, 30+ obstacles), and Ultra Beast (26+ miles, 60+ obstacles). Every failed obstacle, you have to do 30 burpees as penalty. If the participants have completed 3 races in a year, they are entitled to receive the famous Trifecta Medal. I have done 2 Sprints, 1 Super and upcoming Beast in one year.

The first Spartan Sprint I have done was in Singapore May 2017 with courage of my friend Andy, together with Princess, James and Brian. It was the first experience of Spartan Race in my life and it would not have forgotten. I was not physically fit, not even starting to run, except my upper body is quite strong. I could do 20 push ups easy, 25 kg weight lifting, but I really suck at running. I started to run with Princess last year when she took me for 8K for my first run and I was dead at the end. My legs were aching, worry so much about my knee, but surprisingly the more I run, the less pain I feel on my knee. So the Sprint Spartan Race went well, managed to do it in 2 hours approximately on the flat ground and basically just power walk along the course. It was fun, especially the boys helped me with obstacle. The walls are my favorite since I could easily jump over them. It was a proud moment when we jumped over the fire on the finishing line and received the first ever medal. My Spartan Race continue with Spartan Super which was held in Kuala Lumpur with 14+ KM and 25+ obstacles I had it completed in 3 hours 25 minute. I have met a group of wonderful people along the course in Kuala Lumpur, whom now become my big family, Team Reebok SG. At the moment I am still not sure if Spartan Race is just my ambition to cover my ego 1or completed 3 races in one year to complete Trifecta is actually my goal to be fitter and healthier. I will tell my journey with fit family Team Reebok SG on my next post. AROO!


bottom of page