top of page

Finding new friends in the new country

Friends, people who bring you happiness, joy, able to lend their shoulder to cry on, while you are away from home and family. I always cherish friendship, in good and bad. I have found that in Singapore, people come and go easily. This city is a transit city. Hardly expats stay here longer than 4 years.

Getting to know this city for good 2 months is more than enough. Now it's time to find friends.

A good solid friendship. One of friends in Brisbane once told me about The Meet up group that you can find in every city in the world. So here I am, using Google try to find The Meet Up group in Singapore, then voila! I found a group I thought would be worth to try. It's called Singapore Stay At Home Wives (who never stay at home, really).

Click, joined, introduce myself, putting a cute photo of myself and started to find activities they have offered. They have a walking group every Friday, ladies lunch, evening drinks, so many more. So far I was able to score a seat for lunch at Stranger Reunion in Outram Park, suburb next to Tiong Bahru, for my first meet up with them.

The meet up turned up very well, Roslyn (the organiser) is a very nice Scottish lady, as well as other ladies. The Stranger's Reunion itself is a very nice cafe and cozy with beautiful food. The joy of being an expat lady, I get to know many people from other countries. Diverse, multicultural, those mutual feelings for being away from home, are keeping us together.






https://www.meetup.com/SgSAHW/events/237899090/


 

bottom of page