top of page

Kmart is life! (Homegirl is back 2)

Whoever comes from Australia would know Kmart. Who doesn't love Kmart? Ask any women in Australia or some Australian expat mums who have just arrived in Singapore. We all are dying for Kmart.

Just like I do. I do get excited when we plan Brisbane trip, the first thing in my mind was hitting Kmart on Saturday morning. Marsha, my very best friend who lives around city, is "willing" to wake up super early to take me to Kmart. I said "willing" because she normally wakes up late on the weekend, but she loves me dearly, well.. we love each other dearly, while I am in town, she is willing to drive me around everywhere.


Somethings I miss about living in Australia is having a proper breakfast. Proper breakfast means full tummy filling unhealthy meal and coffee. We hit Indooroopilly Mall for breakfast before going on a crazy shopping in Kmart. Happy tummy happy shopper.


Nothing can beat bacon, avocado, hash brown and egg to start the day. Oh and coffee too. Coffee for me is a mood booster. Some my best of friends know one of the rules applies to everyone is do not talk to me before I had my coffee. Look at that meal! So unhealthy yet so good.


When the lift gives you a mirror, take a selfie, girlfriends!

Filling up Kmart's trolley is fun with capital F. Bought a pair of school shoes for $15, 5 pairs of socks for $5, endless affordable stuff. It also got me thinking where could I find good quality China made products which are very affordable in Singapore? I might haven't found the place yet, but I will find it, someday.


The big event of the day is having lunch with the girls. Even though I haven't seen them for a good one year, but I've been following their day to day life through Whatsapp chat group so I never felt being left out but the actual meeting would have been meaningful for me. They picked JoJo's restaurant in the middle of Brisbane CBD as our meeting place as the news hit saying Jojo's is closing down soon following a major renovation around some CBD buildings. We thought we hit this restaurant before they are under renovation.


Puji's little girl, Georgia. She has always been my favourite little girl.







Jojo's is not a bad place to spend $15 for 250gr rump steak including generous chips and salad, not to mention $9 Summer Cocktails with actual amount of alcohol. Meanwhile in Singapore, I would have to fork out $25 for 200gr so-so cheapest steak and $25 for one nice cocktails. The Summer Cocktails enjoyment followed by several Espresso Martinis, beers and any sort of alcohols. Happy friends, happy friendship, happy life.


Judging by photos, clearly you could tell that I love Marsha, Yulia Reny, Yuana, Puji, Lina and Fany dearly, we love each other dearly and I think they are also my soulmates apart from Ed. Some of them are hardworking single moms, I respect them for quietly standing up on their feet and life proof that they can do everything for themselves and their children. Our friendship doesn't always fill up with a nice chit chat, group lunch, pubs hoping and endless support but we also have moments where bitchiness to each other at its best. We are women after all.


At the end, it's not all about cocktails/alcohol or steak price made me happy but togetherness, catching up with lost times I've spent away from them. My family is important, as well as my best of friends. I feel like I've been away for a year but our friendship remain the same, hopefully nothing has ever changed in the future. I'm putting away sadness feelings of being away from my best of friends and any negative feelings out of my suitcase, filling it up with friendship happiness.











bottom of page